Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Lincoln, Kenneth.

Title Cormac McCarthy : American canticles / Kenneth Lincoln
Edition First edition
Published New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2009
Online access available from:
ProQuest Ebook Central (owned titles)    View Resource Record  
Springer eBooks    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource (193 pages)
Series American literature readings in the 21st century
American literature readings in the 21st century.
Contents Penetrant and Simple -- Western Storykeeper -- Canticles Down West -- Back to Appalachia -- Dark is a Way -- Child of Whose God? -- Southern Milltown Script -- Awakening Frontier Muses -- Go Bloody West -- Theater Grotessco -- Vacquero, Ride On -- Star-Crossed Cowboy -- Horse Sense and Human Fate -- A Sorry Tale -- Live or Die, Brother? -- The Final Story
Summary With a thirteen major works over a fifty-year career, one that includes a 2007 Pulitzer Prize, selection for Oprah's Book Club, and Oscar-winning film adaptations of his novels, Cormac McCarthy is one of America's best-selling novelists of the South and Southwest. Cormac McCarthy offers a shrewd chapter-by-chapter reading, exploring concepts such as the Southern Gothic novel, the Southwest border, faith and suicide, and father-son relationships. Respected scholar Kenneth Lincoln shows how McCarthy's canticles of praise, grief, and warning mix classic, biblical, and ballad genres and cross the lyrical with the narrative. Lincoln makes a compelling case that McCarthy is our greatest millennial novelist in a time of heroic challenge and high global stakes
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 179-183) and index
Notes Print version record
Subject McCarthy, Cormac, 1933- -- Criticism and interpretation.
American fiction -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
Genre/Form Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Form Electronic book
Author Palgrave Connect (Online service)
ISBN 0230617840