Limit search to available items
Book Cover
E-book
Author Chan, Sylvia, 1988- author

Title We remain traditional : poems / Sylvia Chan
Published Fort Collins, Colorado : The Center for Literary Publishing, Colorado State University, [2018]
Online access available from:
JSTOR eBooks    View Resource Record  

Copies

Description 1 online resource (91 pages)
Series The mountain west poetry series
Mountain west poetry series.
Contents ONE; Devotion Song; TWO; Body Canopy; Piano Room; Anabatic Scat; Two Composers From Canton; One Eternal Drop of Gold; The Gravel is One More Thing to Pick Up; Or Else; Summertime; The Part About Fate or Counterpoint; THREE; Mine is Probably an Owl; Brief Aspirations of Love & Genealogy; The Strafing in My Biological Story; All of This to Adam; Unasylumed; It Happened by Accident; No Point in Lucid California; Heat Burst; In the Bellows; The Part About Sacral & Nerve or Temperament; The Part About Love or Cadence; FOUR; Virga; Formidable Handbook; Tues, Sept. 11; Prodrome; One Contour in the Narrative BreakBlues; Uppermost Organism; In the Garden; Unasylumed, Unarchived; Vanity; Personal Concept; ONE*; Recapitulation; Notes; Acknowledgements
Summary "In We Remain Traditional, Sylvia Chan juxtaposes the elegy, the conflict, and the brashness of a relationship that summons wild musicality in its love and frustration. Through the speaker and Adam, the beloveds offer thirty-two consolations for the gendered history of Chinese American women--a break and affirmation of their traditions. What saves these two characters is their music--a peace treaty for the book's form or 'fractured paradise, ' a language that protects and protests their bodies in Oakland, California. Marked by vulnerability and intimacy, Chan interrogates a young woman's childhood sexual abuse. In the vein of Stacy Doris and Paul Celan, Chan asks: because she is a child of violent tradition, what is her visceral grief? This is a speaker who aspires to create universal experiences for her listeners, to transform jazz into narrative. This is a wild, beautiful, and ambitious first book: Chan refuses to apologize for the terror in her conviction and compassion. To choose a man who is behind her sexual, psychological, and political exploitation is to forgive his narcissism, aggression, and addiction. To love, simply, is to live unafraid of pushing boundaries and of being happy." -- Provided by publisher
Notes Online resource; title from digital title page (viewed on March 02, 2018)
Subject American poetry -- 21st century.
Genre/Form Poetry.
Form Electronic book
LC no. 2017046809
ISBN 1885635605 (electronic book)
9781885635600 (electronic book)