Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Brown, William Paul, 1947- author

Title Master classes with Menahem Pressler / William Brown
Published Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 2019
Online access available from:
JSTOR eBooks    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource
Contents Cover; Title Page; Copyright; Dedication; Contents; A Few Words Before; Acknowledgments; A Brief Biography; Master Classes and Lessons; Interlude I. Master Classes; 1. Johann Sebastian Bach; Partita No. 6 in E Minor, BWV 830; 2. Samuel Barber; Sonata, Op. 26; Interlude II. Page Turners; 3. Ludwig van Beethoven; Thirty-Two Variations in C Minor, WoO 80; Piano Sonata in A-flat Major, Op. 26; Piano Sonata in E-flat Major, Op. 31, No. 3; Piano Sonata in C Major, Op. 53, Waldstein; Piano Sonata in A-flat Major, Op. 110; 4. Johannes Brahms; Variations on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 35, Bk. 1
Grande Ètude de Paganini No. 2 in E-flat Major [Andante Capriccioso]Grande Ètude de Paganini No. 3 in G-sharp Minor [Allegretto], "La Campanella"; Piano Sonata in B Minor, S. 178; Interlude VI. Funny Stories; 10. Felix Mendelssohn; Rondo Capriccioso, Op. 14; 11. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart; Piano Sonata in B-flat Major, K. 281; Piano Concerto in C Minor, K. 491; Piano Sonata in D Major, K. 576; Interlude VII. Stories about Pianists; 12. Serge Prokofiev; Piano Sonata No. 4 in C Minor, Op. 29; 13. Sergei Rachmaninoff; Étude-Tableau in A Minor, Op. 39, No. 6
Interlude VIII. Honorary Citizenship in Magdeburg, Germany14. Maurice Ravel; Sonatine; Miroirs; Interlude IX. Through Hell and Back; 15. Franz Schubert; Sonata in A Minor, D. 784, Op. 143; Sonata in A Minor, D. 845, Op. 42; Impromptus, D. 899, Op. 90; Interlude X. A New Love; 16. Robert Schumann; Piano Sonata No. 1 in F-sharp Minor, Op. 11, Grosse Sonate; Faschingsschwank aus Wien, Op. 26; Appendix A. Menahem Pressler's Musical Ancestry; Appendix B. Tributes from Former Students and Other Musicians; Bibliography; Index; About the Author
Klavierstücke, Op. 76Intermezzo in A Major, Op. 118, No. 2; Interlude III. Poor Pianos; 5. Frédéric Chopin; Andante Spianato and Grande Polonaise Brillante, Op. 22; Deux Nocturnes, Op. 27; Scherzo No. 3 in C-sharp Minor, Op. 39; Ballade No. 4 in F Minor, Op. 52; Berceuse, Op. 57; Barcarolle, Op. 60; Interlude IV. Hotel Stories; 6. Claude Debussy; Reflets dans l'eau, from Images, Bk. 1; Poisson d'or, from Images, Bk. 2; 7. George Frideric Handel; Chaconne in G Major, HWV 442; Interlude V. Missed Concerts; 8. Franz Joseph Haydn; Piano Sonata in E-flat Major, Hob. XVI:52, Mvt. 1; 9. Franz Liszt
Summary In this companion to his first book, Menahem Pressler: Artistry in Piano Teaching, William Brown brings together world-renowned piano soloist Menahem Pressler's teachings on 37 piano masterworks by Johann Sebastian Bach, Samuel Barber, Ludwig van Beethoven, and more
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Notes Description based on print version record and CIP data provided by publisher; resource not viewed
Subject Pressler, Menahem
Pressler, Menahem.
Piano music -- Interpretation (Phrasing, dynamics, etc.)
MUSIC / Individual Composer & Musician
Piano music -- Interpretation (Phrasing, dynamics, etc.)
Form Electronic book
LC no. 2018051363
ISBN 0253042933
9780253042934 (electronic bk.)
(cl : alk. paper)