Limit search to available items
274 results found. Sorted by relevance | date | title .
Book Cover
Author Temperley, Nicholas.

Title Bound for America : three British composers / Nicholas Temperley
Published Urbana, Ill. : University of Illinois Press, 2008
Online access available from:
JSTOR eBooks    View Resource Record  
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource (256 pages)
Series Music in American life
Music in American life.
Summary Nicholas Temperley documents the lives, careers, and music of three British composers who emigrated from England in mid-career and became leaders in the musical life of Federal-era America. William Selby of London and Boston (1738-98), Rayner Taylor of London and Philadelphia (1745-1825), and George K. Jackson of London, New York, and Boston (1757-1822) were among the first trained professional composers to make their homes in America and to pioneer the building of an art-music tradition in the New World akin to the esteemed European "classical" music. Temperley compares their lives, careers, and compositional styles in the two countries and reflects on American musical nationalism and the changing emphasis in American musical historiography
Notes Originally published: 2003
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Notes Description based on print version record
Subject Jackson, G. K. (George Knowil), 1757?-1822.
Selby, William, 1738-1798.
Taylor, R. (Raynor), 1747-1825.
Composers -- Great Britain -- Biography.
Composers -- United States -- Biography.
Genre/Form Biographies.
Form Electronic book
ISBN 0252092643 (electronic bk.)
9780252092640 (electronic bk.)