Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Herzig, Monika, 1964-

Title David Baker : a legacy in music / Monika Herzig, with contributions by Nathan Davis [and others] ; foreword by Quincy Jones
Published Bloomington : Indiana University Press, [2011]
Online access available from:
Project Muse eBooks    View Resource Record  
ProQuest Ebook Central Subscription    View Resource Record  
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource (xxi, 420 pages) : illustrations
Contents Indiana Avenue and Crispus Attucks High School / Lissa May -- A star is born / Monika Herzig -- New beginnings / Monika Herzig and Nathan Davis -- Defining jazz education / JB Dyas -- 21st century bebop / Monika Herzig and Brent Wallarab -- The composer / David Ward-Steinman -- David Baker and the Smithsonian : a personal perspective / John Edward Hasse -- Social engagement / Willard Jenkins -- Coda / Monika Herzig
Summary A Living Jazz Legend, musician and composer David Baker has made a distinctive mark on the world of music in his nearly 60-year career-as player (chiefly on trombone and cello), composer, and educator. In this richly illustrated volume, Monika Herzig explores Baker's artistic legacy, from his days as a jazz musician in Indianapolis to his long-term gig as Distinguished Professor and Chairman of the Jazz Studies department at Indiana University. Baker's credits are striking: in the 1960s he was a member of George Russell's "out there" sextet and orchestra; by the 1980s he was in the jazz educat
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Notes Print version record
Subject Baker, David, 1931-2016.
Composers -- United States -- Biography.
Jazz musicians -- United States -- Biography.
Genre/Form Biography.
Form Electronic book
Author Davis, Nathan, 1973-
LC no. 2011023574
ISBN 0253005248 (electronic bk.)
9780253005243 (electronic bk.)