Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Breit, William, author

Title The academic scribblers / William Breit, Roger L. Ransom
Edition Thid edition / with a new foreword by Robert M. Solow
Published Baltimore, Maryland : Project Muse, 2014
Online access available from:
JSTOR eBooks    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource (1 PDF (xvii, 282 pages).)
Series Princeton legacy library
Princeton legacy library.
UPCC book collections on Project MUSE
Contents Foreword / by Robert M. SoIow -- Preface to the first edition -- Preface to the second edition -- Introduction -- The pillars of neoclassical economics -- The eclipse of neoclassical economics -- The new economics -- The new neoclassicism -- Afterword : the academic scribblers after twenty-five years -- Index
Summary The Academic Scribblers offers a thoughtful and highly literate summary of modern economic thought. It presents the story of economics through the lives of twelve major modern economists, beginning with Alfred Marshall and concluding with Paul Samuelson and Milton Friedman. In a very real sense, this book picks up where Robert Heilbroner's classic The Wordly Philosophers leaves off. Whereas Heilbroner begins with Smith and ends with Joseph Schumpeter, Breit and Ransom bring the story of modern American and British economic theory up to the 1980s. The Academic Scribblers is an elegant summary of modern economic policy debate and an enticement into a happy engagement with the "dismal science" of economics."
Notes Issued as part of UPCC book collections on Project MUSE
Reprint. Originally published: 1998
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and indexes
Notes Description based on print version record
Subject Economics -- History -- 20th century.
Economics -- United States -- History -- 20th century.
Economists -- Biography.
Economists -- United States -- Biography.
Genre/Form Biographies.
Form Electronic book
Author Ransom, Roger L., 1938- author
Solow, Robert M., writer of foreword
Project Muse, distributor
Project Muse.
ISBN 1400864895