Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Book
Author Reyes, Barbara Jane, author

Title Invocation to daughters / Barbara Jane Reyes
Published San Francisco : City Lights, [2017]

Copies

Location Call no. Vol. Availability
 MELB  810.6 R4572 A21/I  DUE 01-11-19
Description 74 pages ; 18 cm
Series City Lights spotlight ; no. 16
City Lights spotlight ; no. 16
Summary "Feminist experimental poetry in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Hak Kyung Cha from a prominent Filipina American poet"-- Provided by publisher
"The fifth collection from Oakland poet Barbara Jane Reyes, in the tradition of Audre Lorde and Theresa Hak Kyung Cha, Invocation to Daughters is a book of prayers, psalms, and odes for Filipina girls and women trying to survive and make sense of their own situations. Writing in an English inflected with Tagalog and Spanish, Reyes unleashes this colonized tongue against sexualized and racialized violence towards Pinay women. With its meditations on the relationship between fathers and daughters and impassioned pleas on behalf of victims of brutality, Invocation to Daughters is a lyrical feminist broadside written from a place of shared humanity"-- Provided by publisher
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 74-75)
Subject American poetry -- Asian American authors -- 21st century.
Genre/Form Poetry.
Poetry.
Poetry
LC no. 2017023929
ISBN 9780872867475 (paperback)
0872867471 (paperback)
Other Titles Poems. Selections