Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Venning, Timothy, author.

Title A chronology of the Crusades / Timothy Venning ; with an introduction by Peter Frankopan
Published London : Routledge, 2015
Online access available from:
ProQuest Ebook Central Subscription    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource
Contents Cover; Title; Copyright; Contents; Introduction; 1 Prelude to the First Crusade 1055-1094; 2 The First Crusade 1095-1099; 3 The Crusader states 1100-1144; 4 The Second Crusade 1145-1149; 5 The Crusader states 1150-1187; 6 The Third Crusade 1188-1192; 7 The Crusader kingdoms and the Fourth Crusade 1193-1204; 8 The Crusading states to the Sixth Crusade 1205-1244; 9 The Sixth Crusade and after 1245-1261; 10 The Seventh Crusade and the end of Outremer 1262-1291; 11 The Crusades after the loss of the Holy Land 1292-1456; Bibliography; Index
Summary A Chronology of the Crusades provides a day-by-day development of the Crusading movement, the Crusades and the states created by them through the medieval period. Beginning in the run-up to the First Crusade in 1095, to the fall of Constantinople in 1453, and ending with the Turkish attack on Belgrade in 1456, this reference is a comprehensive guide to the events of each Crusade, concentrating on the Near East, but also those Christian expeditions sanctioned by the Papacy as 'Crusades' in the medieval era. As well as clashes between Christians and Muslims in the Latin States, Timothy Venning a
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Notes Online resource; title from PDF title page (EBSCO, viewed May 6, 2015)
Subject Crusades -- Chronology
HISTORY -- World.
Genre/Form Chronologies.
Form Electronic book
Author Frankopan, Peter, writer of introduction.
ISBN 1317496434