Limit search to available items
Book Cover

Title Sixteen and counting : the national championships of Alabama football
Published Tuscaloosa : University of Alabama, 2017
Online access available from:
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource
Contents Foreword / by Bill Battle -- Introduction / by Kenneth Gaddy -- 1925 / Andrew Doyle -- 1926 / Taylor Watson -- 1930 / Delbert Reed -- 1934 / Mitch Dobbs -- 1941 / Wayne Atcheson -- 1961 : the resurrection / Winston Groom -- 1964 / Tom Roberts -- 1965 / Keith Dunnavant -- 1973 / John David Briley -- 1978 / Kirk McNair -- 1979 / Steve Townsend -- 1992 / Gene Stallings with Erik Stinnett -- 2009 / Eryk Anders, Javier Arenas, and Tommy Deas -- 2011 / Mayor Walter Maddox -- 2012 / Tommy Deas and Barrett Jones -- 2015 / Phil Savage -- The other five / Allen Barra
Summary Dating back to 1925, when Wallace Wade coached the Crimson Tide to an undefeated season and earned a spot in the Rose Bowl, the driving goal of every University of Alabama football season has been a national championship. A winning team surfaced that very next year, when Hoyt "Wu" Winslett's squad sealed the national championship at the Rose Bowl for a second time. Winning seasons and bowl games culminating in the coveted crown followed again in 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992, 2009, 2011, 2012, and 2015--more championships than any other college team in the nation. Sixteen and Counting features a chapter highlighting each of these championship seasons and collects the legendary stories of many of the outstanding coaches and players on the University of Alabama's championship teams. College football legends such as Wallace Wade, Wu Winslett, Johnny Mack Brown, Pooley Herbert, Frank Thomas, Dixie Howell, Don Hutson, Jimmy Nelson, Holt Rast, Pat Trammel, Sam Bailey, Lee Roy Jordan, Harry Gilmer, Bill Lee, Ken Stabler, Joe Namath, Gary Rutledge, Randy Billingsley, Barry Krauss, Clem Gryska, Gene Stallings, Paul "Bear" Bryant, and, of course, Nick Saban all make prominent appearances. A seventeenth chapter is included that looks at the uncrowned teams commonly referred to as "the other five," who were considered national champions by at least one national ranking service at the end of the season. Every glorious milestone and high point in Alabama football history is included here: "Mama called," the wishbone formation, "The Goal Line Stand," the Million Dollar Band, the coaching tower, the Davis kicking dynasty, the Notre Dame box, Coach of the Year, Team of the Decade, and two Heisman trophy winners
Subject Alabama Crimson Tide (Football team) -- History.
University of Alabama -- Football -- History.
Genre/Form History.
Form Electronic book
ISBN 0817391649 (electronic bk.)
9780817391645 (electronic bk.)