Limit search to available items
Book Cover

Title Analytical essays on music by women composers : concert music 1960-2000 / edited by Laurel Parsons and Brenda Ravenscroft
Published New York : Oxford University Press, 2016
Online access available from:
ProQuest Ebook Central    View Resource Record  
Due to scheduled maintenance, access to this database will be unavailable on Sunday 20th October 2019, from 3:00 AM ADST, for approximately 3 hours. The provider apologises for any inconvenience this may cause.


Description 1 online resource
Contents Order, freedom and design. Ursula Mamlok, Panta rhei, third movement (1981) biography ; "Twelve tone in my own way" : an analytical study of Ursula Mamlok's Panta rhei, third movement, with some reflections on twelve-tone music in America / Joseph N. Straus ; Norma Beecroft, Improvvisazioni concertanti no. 1 (1961) biography ; Improvvisazioni concertanti no. 1 by Norma Beecroft : serialism, improvisatory discourse, and the musical avant-garde / Christoph Neidhöfer ; Joan Tower, Silver ladders (1986) biography ; "Octatonicism," the octatonic scale, and large-scale structure in Joan Tower's Silver ladders / Jonathan W. Bernard -- Gesture, identity and culture. Sofia Gubaidulina, String quartet no. 2 (1987) biography ; "Difference inhabits repetition" : Sofia Gubaidulina's string quartet no. 2 / Judy Lochhead ; Chen Yi, Symphony no. 2 (1993) biography ; The transformative power of musical gestures : cultural translation in Chen Yi's Symphony no. 2 / Nancy Rao -- Music, words and voices. Kaija Saariaho, "The claw of the magnolia," from the Grammar of dreams (1988) biography ; Superposition in Kaija Saariaho's "The claw of the magnolia" / John Roeder ; Libby Larsen, Chanting towards paradise (1997) biography ; Music as a mirror : Libby Larsen's Chanting towards paradise / Brenda Ravenscroft ; Elisabeth Lutyens, Essence of our happinesses (1968) biography ; This imaginary halfe-nothing : temporality in Elisabeth Lutyens's Essence of our happinesses / Laurel Parsons
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Notes Print version record
Subject Beecroft, Norma. Improvvisazioni concertanti, no. 1.
Chen, Yi, 1953- Symphonies, no. 2.
Gubaidulina, Sofia, 1931- Quartets, violins (2), viola, cello, no. 2.
Larsen, Libby. Chanting to paradise.
Lutyens, Elisabeth, 1906-1983. Essence of our happinesses.
Mamlok, Ursula. Panta rhei.
Saariaho, Kaija. Grammaire des rêves.
Tower, Joan, 1938- Silver ladders.
Form Electronic book
Author Parsons, Laurel, editor
Ravenscroft, Brenda, 1961- editor
ISBN 0190236876 (electronic bk)
9780190236878 (electronic bk)