Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Haas, Michael, 1954- author

Title Forbidden music : the Jewish composers banned by the Nazis / Michael Haas
Published New Haven : Yale University Press, [2013]
Online access available from:
JSTOR eBooks    View Resource Record  
ProQuest Ebook Central Subscription    View Resource Record  
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource (xii, 358 pages)
Contents ""Cover ""; ""Title Page ""; ""Contents ""; ""Preface""; ""Introduction""; ""German and Jewish""; ""Wagner and German Jewish Composers in the Nineteenth Century""; ""An Age of Liberalism, Brahms and the Chronicler Hanslick""; ""Mahler and His Chronicler Julius Korngold""; ""The Jugendstil School of Schoenberg, Schreker, Zemlinsky and Weigl""; ""A Musical Migration""; ""Hey! We�re Alive!""; ""A Question of Musical Potency""; ""The Resolute Romantics""; ""Between Hell and Purgatory""; ""Exile and Worse""; ""Restitution""; ""Epilogue""; ""Notes""; ""Bibliography""; ""Index""
Summary When National Socialism arrived in Germany in 1933, Jews dominated music more than virtually any other sector, making it the most important cultural front in the Nazi fight for German identity. This groundbreaking book looks at the Jewish composers and musicians banned by the Third Reich and the consequences for music throughout the rest of the 20th century
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 307-334) and index
Notes Print version record
Subject Composers -- Germany.
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
Jewish composers -- Germany -- History -- 20th century.
Jews -- Germany -- Music.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Music and the war.
Genre/Form History.
Form Electronic book
ISBN 0300154313 (electronic bk.)
1299483585 (MyiLibrary)
9780300154313 (electronic bk.)
9781299483583 (MyiLibrary)