Book Cover
Author Palmer, R. R. (Robert Roswell), 1909-2002.

Title Twelve who ruled : the year of the Terror in the French Revolution / by R.R. Palmer ; with a new foreword by Isser Woloch
Edition First Princeton Classic edition, Bicentennial edition
Published New Jersey : Princeton University Press, 2005
Online access available from:
JSTOR eBooks    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource (xviii, 415 pages) : illustrations, 1 map
Series A Princeton classic edition
Princeton classic editions.
Contents I Twelve Terrorists to Be 3 -- II The Fifth Summer of the Revolution 22 -- III Organizing the Terror 44 -- IV The Beginning of Victory 78 -- V The "Foreign Plot" and 14 Frimaire 108 -- VI Republic in Miniature 130 -- VII Doom At Lyons 153 -- VIII The Missions to Alsace 177 -- IX The Missions to Brittany 202 -- X Dictated Economy 225 -- XI Finding the Narrow Way 254 -- XII Ventose 280 -- XIII The Culmination 305 -- XIV The Rush Upon Europe 335 -- XV The Fall 361
Summary "In its fifth year (1793-1794), the French Revolution faced a multifaceted crisis that threatened to overwhelm the Republic. In response, the government instituted a revolutionary dictatorship and a "reign of terror," with a Committee of Public safety at its head. R.R. Palmer's fascinating narrative follows the Committee's deputies individually and collectively, recounting and addressing their tumultuous struggles in Paris and their repressive missions in the provinces. A new foreword by Isser Woloch explains why this book has been, and deserves to remain, an enduring classic in French revolutionary studies."--Jacket
Notes Originally published with the subtitle: The Committee of Public Safety during the Terror. Princeton university press, 1941
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 397-402) and index
Notes Print version record
Subject France. Convention nationale. Comité de salut public.
Revolutionaries -- France -- Biography.
France -- History -- Reign of Terror, 1793-1794.
Genre/Form Biography.
Form Electronic book
ISBN 140084939X (electronic bk.)
9781400849390 (electronic bk.)