Book Cover
Author Barclay, Michael, 1971-

Title Have not been the same : the CanRock renaissance, 1985-1995 / Michael Barclay, Ian A.D. Jack, Jason Schneider ; foreword by Gordon Downie
Published Toronto : ECW Press, [2011]
Online access available from:
ProQuest Ebook Central Subscription Collection    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource (x, 739) : illustrations
Contents Overture : everybody knows this is nowhere -- Did you get my message on the people's radio? : CBC, campus radio, muchmusic -- Glittering prizes and endless compromises -- Under the volcano : the fallout of Vancouver punk -- Folk of the eighties : Montreal -- Yeah, it matters : change of heart and post-punk Toronto -- Northern wishes & visionary flounders -- What are we fighting for? : the outsiders -- Acadian driftwood : the creation of the Daniel Lanois sound -- In the spirit of Crazy Horse -- Folk you : roots revisited -- The importance of being Sloan -- Never mind the molluscs : the Halifax underground -- The path of thorns : nettwerk records -- Trust yourself : Blue Rodeo -- Two solitudes : the Tradically Hip -- Epilogue : where the change is -- Selected cast of characters
Summary Annotation When first published in 2001, Have Not Been The Same became the first book to comprehensively document the rise of Canadian underground rock from 1985 to 1995. 10 years on, the 650-page book is still regarded by critics and musicians as the definitive history of the era. To mark this milestone, the authors have updated many key areas of the book through new interviews, further illuminating the ongoing influence of this generation of artists
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Notes Print version record
Subject Rock music -- Canada -- 1981-1990 -- History and criticism
Rock music -- Canada -- 1991-2000 -- History and criticism
Genre/Form Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Form Electronic book
Author Jack, Ian Andrew Dylan, 1973-
Schneider, Jason, 1971-
ISBN 1554909686 (electronic bk.)
1554909929 (electronic bk.)
9781554909681 (electronic bk.)
9781554909926 (electronic bk.)