Limit search to available items
Book Cover
Author Kroll, Mark, author.

Title Bach, Handel, and Scarlatti : reception in Britain 1750-1850 / Mark Kroll
Published Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2022


Description 1 online resource
Series Cambridge elements. Elements in music and musicians 1750-1850
Summary The music of Johann Sebastian Bach, George Frederic Handel and Domenico Scarlatti received more performances, publications and appreciation in Britain between 1750-1850 than in any other country during this era. The compositions of these three seminal baroque composers were heard in the numerous public and private concerts that proliferated at this time; edited, arranged and published for professionals and amateurs; written about by scholars and journalists; and used as teaching pieces and in pedagogical treatises. This Element examines the reception of their music during this dynamic period in British musical history, and places the discussion within the context of the artistic, cultural, economic, and political factors that stimulated such passionate interest in 'ancient music.' It also offers a vivid picture of the aesthetic concerns of those musicians and audiences involved with this repertoire, providing insights that help us better understand our own encounters with music of the past
Notes Description based on online resource; title from digital title page (viewed on September 15, 2022)
Subject Bach, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750 -- Appreciation -- Great Britain
Handel, George Frideric, 1685-1759 -- Appreciation -- Great Britain
Scarlatti, Domenico, 1685-1757 -- Appreciation -- Great Britain
Bach, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750.
Handel, George Frideric, 1685-1759.
Scarlatti, Domenico, 1685-1757.
Music -- 18th century -- History and criticism.
Music appreciation -- Great Britain -- History -- 18th century
Music appreciation -- Great Britain -- History -- 19th century
Art appreciation.
Music appreciation.
Great Britain.
Genre/Form Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Form Electronic book
ISBN 9781009006880