Book Cover
Author Baeten, J. C. M.

Title Process algebra : equational theories of communicating processes / J.C.M. Baeten, T. Basten, M.A. Raniers
Published Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, [2010]
Online access available from:
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection    View Resource Record  


Description 1 online resource (xvi, 460 pages) : illustrations
Series Cambridge tracts in theoretical computer science ; 50
Cambridge tracts in theoretical computer science ; 50
Contents Foreword / Tony Hoare -- Foreword / Robin Milner -- Foreword / Jan Bergstra -- 1. Process algebra -- 2. Preliminaries -- 3. Transition systems -- 4. Basic process theory -- 5. Recursion -- 6. Sequential processes -- 7. Parallel and communicating processes -- 8. Abstraction -- 9. Timing -- 10. Data and states -- 11. Features -- 12. Semantics
Summary "Process algebra is a widely accepted and much used technique in the specification and verification of parallel and distributed software systems. This book sets the standard for the field. It assembles the relevant results of most process algebras currently in use, and presents them in a unified framework and notation." "The authors describe the theory underlying the development, realization, and maintenance of software that occurs in parallel or distributed systems. A system can be specified in the syntax provided, and the axioms can be used to verify that a composed system has the required external behavior. As examples, two protocols are completely specified and verified in the text: the Alternating-Bit communication Protocol, and Fischer's Protocol of mutual exclusion." "The book serves as a reference text for researchers and graduate students in computer science, offering a complete overview of the field and referring to further literature where appropriate."--Jacket
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index
Subject Electronic data processing -- Distributed processing.
Parallel processing (Electronic computers)
Form Electronic book
Author Basten, Thomas Geertruida Henricus, 1973-
Reniers, M. A. (Michel Adriaan), 1970-
ISBN 0511712340 (electronic bk.)
0511714424 (electronic bk.)
113919500X (electronic bk.)
9780511712340 (electronic bk.)
9780511714429 (electronic bk.)
9781139195003 (electronic bk.)